The name, you asked?

Standard

Say Your Name
Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

I have a very strong motive to right this post, from now, whenever someone asks me the story behind my name, I’ll send them here.

So, let the story begin.
When I was born, on that same month, there was a story in a monthly magazine. My dad and grandpa, really liked the name of the author and she had the same family name, as ours.
So, they decided to name me after the author, ‘Tisha'(so much for creativity, I believe laziness runs in the family ;)).

Anyway, the twist comes now, apparently the article was in Bengali and so was the name. Bengali has an interesting concept, the ‘s’ is pronounced as ‘sh’ , so what happened is the English translation for my name, ended up being ‘Tisa’.

Now, those people whom I have personally met and told the ‘s’, ‘sh’ concept, calls me Tisha and those who see my name before hearing it from me calls me ‘Tisa’. I respond to both, but I prefer the earlier version.

I don’t want to change my name, maybe the spelling. But, sometimes it’s fun to choose from the two spellings. I like the uniqueness of my name.

Apart from that, I love the meaning of ‘Tisha’, it means joy. I would like to believe, it complements me perfectly.

~The Puzzle
Twitter handle: @shits_i_say

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

